challenges / Uncategorized

Share Your World 2016: Week 40

It’s Cee’s Share Your World time again! Click Here  to participate.
“For the next two weeks the questions are from kids. The Happy Quitter wrote me this weekend and told me about her workshop she does for neighborhood kids and the some of the kids had some suggestions for the Share your World challenge. I realize there are more than 4 questions so feel free to answer all or only 4 questions.”

Why did you start blogging? I originally started because I was in the process of writing an autobiographical novel, and wanted to connect with fellow authors. The book is more than half finished (pre-editing), but I’ve been suffering from writer’s block for about three years now. Someday…
A piece of clothing you still remember? Not clothing, but jewelry, and the Strangest thing just happened! When I was a teenager, I lost my most beloved, vintage Zuni (Native American tribe) ring. As I was searching through images that would be comparable, I found THE ring! The very one I’ve been searching for for over two decades!

image

Mother of Pearl w/Turquoise inlays

Who are you trying to reach with your blog? Still regrouping from my miraculous find! I’m just trying to reach and connect with real people who are creative in their own ways. So far, I haven’t been let down.
Is there a stuffed animal in your bedroom? Yep. It’s a giant puppy that Derek gave to me on Valentine’s Day. I sleep with it on my head, because I have to cover my head when I sleep.
The best birthday present ever? 11 long-stemmed yellow roses and a date with my mom on my 11th Birthday. It’s been 25 years, but I’ll never forget the thoughtfulness of my Mother’s gift. I was in a new school in a new state, and was missing Texas. Yellow roses are an iconic Texas symbol, and the fact that my mother had one rose removed for my Birthday has always stuck with me. She pulled me out of school and took me for a grilled cheese sandwich lunch date. Kids: you won’t remember a new iPad, but you’ll remember moments like these. I promise.

What would surprise me about you? I’m a bit of a germaphobe. Actually, more than a bit. If I’m in a fast food restaurant, I always use a napkin to pull from the middle of the cup lids, and that napkin also has to be pulled from the middle. I also wipe the table down with hand sanitizer. The world would be a better place if people washed their hands more often!

 

16 thoughts on “Share Your World 2016: Week 40

      • I know what you mean. When my mom used to drag me to antique stores when I was a kid, it was torture to me. Now though, I can’t get enough of antique malls, flea markets, or peddlers malls. And when it’s time for the 127 Yard Sale weekend, I’m nearly giddy with anticipation. It must be genetic now, because my boys actually enjoy bartering, dickering, wheeling, and dealing too. 😃

      • That’s awesome! All of those trade shows are definitely where I got my haggling skills from. It’s just such a cool subset/community. I wouldn’t trade the experience for anything now!

Leave a Reply

