challenges / Uncategorized

Cee’s Share Your World 2016: Week 41

This Challenge should totally have its own theme song by now! Since I can’t sing my way out of a paper bag, I’ll leave that to your imagination.

This is our last week to explore the questions that are from kids. The Happy Quitter wrote me and told me about her workshop she does for neighborhood kids and the some of the kids had some suggestions for the Share your World challenge.  
Do you believe in love at first sight?  I believe in people experiencing love at first sight, but that wasn’t the case in my love story. I actually turned my partner’s date invitations down for almost a year, but he was (very) persistent. I did fall in love with him on our first date…11 years ago. Thank goodness he didn’t give up!

Your first car?

My first car (that I bought myself) was a 1989 VW Fox, and I loved her so. She cost $800 and was the first car I learned to drive manually (stick shift). It was 1999, and I was 19. Her driver side window never went up all of the way, so she always smelled of mildew. Still, I drove her even when she forgot how to go in reverse. Finding an incline to park on was a challenge, but Foxy was worth it!

Who taught you to ride a bike? How did it go? 


Aww. This was my first bike. My parents taught me the basics, but it took the neighborhood boys to taunt me into taking the training wheels off. I lived in a neighborhood of “older brothers” and they challenged me to a race one day. The stipulation was that I had to race without the “baby wheels”. That did the trick!

Ugly and rich or beautiful and poor? My favorite childhood teacher taught me that “wealthy” doesn’t equal “rich”. You can have a rich life without being wealthy. Finding and appreciating beauty in the small things leads to a rich and fulfilled life…whether you look like a movie star or not.

What was the first dish you could cook? Chicken Fried Steak, y’all!

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? Hurricane Matthew hit NC hard and at least 19 people in our state lost their lives. In light of this, I’m grateful for so much. I know a lot of people who’ve been without power since Saturday, and aren’t expected to get it back until Sunday. I’m grateful that it’s not me, but I know it easily could be. The skies are blue now, but towns are still being crippled by devastating floods from the runoff. #greenville

9 thoughts on “Cee’s Share Your World 2016: Week 41

  1. I always remember the story of you and Derek 🙂 I’m glad he didn’t give up (the man knows what he wants, and that’s rare!! You hit the jackpot, Kim! 🙂 ❤ )

Leave a Reply

