diy / DIY,Home Decor / Uncategorized

How To Make Tinted Glass: Cheap and Easy!

Hi y’all! I know you’re all busy pinching pennies like myself, but put those pennies down for a minute and join me on this fun and easy tutorial. Better yet: roll those pennies and use them to purchase the three ingredients for this tinted glass project!



Here’s what you’ll need:

1. A clear glass object. Any one will do. I purchased mine for $1.25 at Target…just to test the waters with.

2. Mod Podge Gloss-Lustre


3. Food Coloring Kit


You’ll also need to have paper towels, wax paper and a cookie sheet on hand.

Prep time! 

Here’s what you’ll do (the fun part):

1. Line a sheet tray with a few layers of paper towels.

2. Mix some mod Podge with the color of your choice in a paper bowl. I was going for an aqua color, so I mixed a little bit of blue and green. No measuring is required. Just make sure you have enough to thoroughly coat the glass.

3.  Pour the mixture into your glass and turn until the inside surface is covered. This is where the paper towels come in.

4. Turn glass upside down on the paper towels and set your timer for 1 hour. While you wait, you can Netflix and chill, take a bubble bath or give yourself a pat on the back for being a badass DIY’er!

Let’s get cooking!

Here’s what you’ll do:

Remove glass from paper towels, place on a wax paper lined sheet pan, and bake at 225 for 45 minutes to 1 hour.

Now you just let it cool and revel in the fact that you just made something super cool! 

This project was inspired by a glass pendant light I’d like to make. My goal is to make a set of three for overhead lighting in the kitchen.  

It would look a little something like the above photo, but these retail for around $160 EACH. Now that I’ve tested the waters with tinting glass, I’m pretty sure I’ll be able to do it myself for under $100 total.

But that DIY is for a future post, so stay tuned!

12 thoughts on “How To Make Tinted Glass: Cheap and Easy!

    • Thank you! I think mod Podge is non-toxic but I still wouldn’t recommend it for food use. Please bear with me because I thought I was posting this on my DIY blog and reblogging on my personal blog. I was mistaken, so there might be a few revisions!

  1. Beautiful, Kim! I love it!
    You could make is SUPER cheap using “interesting” jars. Like those where the “delicatessen” are found. And it won’t be a problem putting the lamp on the tin lid and screw it back in place 🙂

    I can’t find Mod Podge here!

    • Thanks, Paola! I’m actually baking some different colored jars right now!!! I can’t believe you can’t find mod Podge. There are some tutorials out there that call for regular glue, so you might want to check that out.

Leave a Reply

