challenges / Uncategorized

The Hello Neighbor! Q&A Challenge!


I am an awards-free blogger, but that doesn’t mean I don’t love the Q&A portions of awards. If you’re reading this post, you’re invited to participate in my first ever Q&A challenge. Simply link back to this post by Friday 8/19, and I’ll feature your posts in my wrap up!

Here are my questions: 

#1. If you had to choose one food to eat for the rest of your life, what would it be? 

#2. If you had to pick one place to travel to, where would it be? 

#3. Just based off of physical features, what animal would you be? 

#4. Which extreme sport would you try? 

#5. Most awkward date?

#6. What advice would you give your teenage self? 

#7. What’s the best gift you’ve ever received? 

#8. Which fragrances remind you of childhood? 

#9. Which career would you choose, if you could choose again? 

#10. What’s the last thing that made you cry? Do you consider yourself to be an emotional person?

Here are my answers:

#1.I’m obsessed with popcorn. It’s the #1 reason that I watch movies in the theatre. Nothing beats $8 movie popcorn, except maybe, free movie popcorn.

#2. I’ve seen most of the U.S., (including Alaska), as well as Ecuador and Canada. I still desperately want to visit Greece. 

3#. Despite clinging to a smidgeon of Cherokee lineage, I’m a chipmunk girl. My sister and mother got what was left of the chiseled cheekbone gene, and those cheekbones could slice your cheese!

#4. I’ve gotten as far as snowboarding, and I no-joke, had to be rescued from the edge of a cliff. I saw my life flash before me as my blue fingers dug into the embankment, but I’d do it again in a heartbeat! Also, I guess snowboarding isn’t actually an extreme sport…unless I’m involved. 🙄

#5. I should’ve known better when I went out with a guy named “Rocky”, but he was cute and a marine. First, he tried to kiss me with a wad of tobacco in his mouth. Then,  I found out he was still technically dating his “ex”, so he left to officially break up with her.I waited in his jeep while this all went down because I still didn’t have my drivers license. A week later, I learned he’d offered her a promise ring…during our date!

#6. I’d say wait…on everything! By the time I was 15, I’d been through a lot, and I thought that made me an adult. The truth was, I was a 98 pound teenager who knew nothing. I thought I was grown,but I wish I would’ve embraced my youth. It’s ok to be young, and it’s great to wait for sex until you’re ready. 

#7. I turned 11 the year my family relocated to Montana from Texas. I’m a seventh generation Texan, so cold was not in my blood. Somehow, we’d made it through the -20 degree weather,and then my Birthday came in March. My mother had 11 long stem yellow roses delivered to my classroom (the yellow rose of Texas), and then she pulled me out of class. She took me to a “fancy restaurant”, and we both ordered grilled cheese sandwiches and tomato soup. Mama passed away in 1999, and I’ll always cherish her gift of that Mother/Daughter date.

#8.For me,it’s forest, and fresh cut-logs smoldering in Pappa and Mamma’s East Texas wood-burning stove. It’s apple butter,old spice and Brisket from Grandma Joyce and Cecil’s place in the Texas hill country. It’s biscuits and bacon,and coffee.

#9. Next year will mark 20 years in hospitality for me. I’ve served, I’ve managed, and I’ve planned corporate events and weddings for thousands. I’m honestly over customer service, but now I work amongst a lot of scientists. Sure, I get them their morning coffee, but I’d love to strap on some khakis and join them in the field in discovering a new species. 

#10. I am a Very emotional being, and I last cried about 15 minutes ago, while watching So You Think You Can Dance: The Next Generation. What!??? It was a very moving performance! Don’t judge. 😭

I hope y’all have fun with these questions, and I look forward to getting to know you all better!

8 thoughts on “The Hello Neighbor! Q&A Challenge!

  1. I got teary eyed reading about your Mom sending you the dozen of yellow roses on your biethday. Taking you to a fancy restaurant….such a sweet lovely memory. I’m sorry you lost your Mom so early in life 💜

  2. Those were great answers! Glad you made it back from the edge of the cliff! I used to cry at Kleenex commercials. When I think about the “Kleenex says Bless You” jingle, I still get a little weepy.

Leave a Reply

