Thoughts & Anecdotes / Uncategorized

The Bigotry Loop: Pear Jam Cancels NC Concerts

PEARL JAM STATEMENT: It is with deep consideration and much regret that we must cancel the Raleigh show in North Carolina on April 20th.

This will be upsetting to those who have tickets and you can be assured that we are equally frustrated by the situation.

The HB2 law that was recently passed is a despicable piece of legislation that encourages discrimination against an entire group of American citizens. The practical implications are expansive and its negative impact upon basic human rights is profound. We want America to be a place where no one can be turned away from a business because of who they love or fired from their job for who they are.

It is for this reason that we must take a stand against prejudice, along with other artists and businesses, and join those in North Carolina who are working to oppose HB2 and repair what is currently unacceptable.

We have communicated with local groups and will be providing them with funds to help facilitate progress on this issue.

In the meantime we will be watching with hope and waiting in line for a time when we can return.

Perhaps even celebrate.

With immense gratitude for your understanding,

-Pearl Jam
I don’t know where to begin, but I have friends who have been ticket holders for months. I haven’t been a fan of Pearl Jam since this song…

I am all for taking a stand but I feel like the band is punishing NC as a whole. My friends aren’t bigots, they just really like Pearl Jam. To me it feels like #stateshaming. Maybe that’s an actual tag. I don’t know!

Donald Trump is The Worst but that doesn’t mean that boycotting the entire state of NY is the answer. 

Just my 2 cents.

7 thoughts on “The Bigotry Loop: Pear Jam Cancels NC Concerts

  1. Springsteen cancelled his shows too. I love North Carolina, it’s like a second home to me, and is where my wife was born and raised part time. We love it. But all this is pretty disappointing. Considering its Bible Belt standing, it’s generally pretty progressive. They kinda flubbed with this law.

  2. Yes, I see your point of view for sure.y husband, on the other hand, says that it’s good to put economic pressure on the state. Guess there are two sides to every story but if be pissed if I was missing my favorite band for sure!

  3. Is their statement of the law correct? Gay Rights have been assured since the early 90’s, Obama care insures their benefits regardless, so what are they objecting to?
    Isn’t this the religious rights/bathroom law for LGBT? So they won’t come back until 1/2 of the 1% of Americans who are LGBT can use the bathroom of their choice, depending on where they are in their transition, be it emotional or physical?
    If I were a fan, I would be really ticked off.

    • The bill as it is, states that one must use the restroom that’s assigned to the gender on one’s birth certificate. It does not discriminate against those who have legally had their sex changed. I don’t know, Wendy! It’s all just mud in the water. I firmly believe that everyone has the right to live life however they choose, as long as it does not harm others. Would I be comfortable in a bathroom with a male stranger? No! Do I fear that corrupt men will take advantage of the situation? Hell yes! I’m not worried about transgenders using the same restroom as me, but there are a lot of really bad people in the world and I do fear sickos abusing the right to use any bathroom they wish. And I’ve probably said too much. 😜

      • I’m on the same page as you.
        I think people mean well wanting to make sure everyone is “protected”, but the unintended consequences are pretty terrible. when you create a law that gives “rights” to bad people who want to take advantage of those laws to do bad things, you don’t “protect” anyone.
        Have a great day! Thanks for expressing your view. I don’t feel so alone in mine.

Leave a Reply

