Travel,Texas / Uncategorized

A Homesick Texan’s Travel Guide

 

My actual childhood road to home. I had to wake up at 5 a.m. to catch the schoolbus,but the view was worth it!

 
Image credit-AARP

I’m never not missing my home state, but I miss it most this time of year. The Bluebonnets are in bloom and endless outdoor adventures beckon as the temperatures go from hot to hot as hell! If you have some vacation time to cash in, I highly recommend a trip to the Texas hill country.

Here are some items to add to your Texas bucket list:

Bluebonnets:

It’s illegal to pick Bluebonnets thanks to Lady Bird Johnson. She had a super cool name and played a huge part in beautifying Texas with her wildflower program. “Where flowers bloom, so does hope.” -LBG 

Just think of the wildflowers in Texas like art in a museum. Look but don’t touch!

  

Water so clear you can see the bottom of the river bed:

  

“Don’t mess with Texas” is real. Litterbugs be warned. Littering in Texas carries some hefty penalties, which is a good thing for all you water lovers! 

   
Hamilton Pool just outside of Austin, Tx. 50 ft. waterfall included!  

Jacob’s Well. Wimberley,Tx

 I don’t know who these dudes are but they look like they know how to party! Jacob’s Well is one of the deepest underwater caves in the U.S.

Images pulled from Pinterest.

 

Dining on Lake Travis in Austin,Tx

 
You’ll be famished after all that swimmin’ but you can still take in a breathtaking view of the water, while dining on Lake Travis.

Little towns, BIG personalities:

This is my hometown. Fredericksburg,Tx.

I knew I lived in a picturesque town but I never imagined it would turn into the tourist destination that it is today. I was one of the few kids in my school who didn’t have a German last name. Their grandparents were called ‘Opa’ and ‘Oma’ and mine were ‘Pappaw’ and ‘Mammaw’. So many kids raised and showed livestock, that the entire school got the day off when the county fair started. Fredericksburg is a German settlement nestled in the heart of the hill country and now offers luxurious accommodations,dining and shopping. That’s all great, but you haven’t lived until you’ve had a sausage Kolache or a Schnitzel!

Their Schnitzle is da shitzle!

Not just tumbleweeds. It’s the hill country!

Image credit: LandsofTexas.com

Flower lovers delight! Wildseed Farms is just a ways yonder from Fredericksburg.

Let’s Go To Luckenbach,Tx!



       

If you want the ‘true’ Texas experience,   you have to visit Luckenbach! So many people think it’s an imaginary place dreamed up by Willie,Waylon and the boys, but it’s a real “town” where, hippies,ranchers and tourists  are welcome. It’s  just a grasshopper’s leap from Fredericksburg. Feel free to bring your instrument of choice, because there’s almost always a sing along!

  

Big Balls in Cowtown. Bandera, Tx. Bandera is the cowboy capital!

   

   

Texas truly is like a whole other country, and you don’t  have to be a die-hard republican to enjoy it. Texas means friendship and you’re sure to find some in your travels.

http://youtu.be/3dXR5Dk8YNw


16 thoughts on “A Homesick Texan’s Travel Guide

  1. I have to say, I’m surprised by a lot of it. Hippies in Texas? And aren’t all grands mammaw and pappaw?? It certainly looks beautiful. Oh, so many places to travel to and so little money to do it.

  2. Looks awesome! I love Austin! Great town, have been for South By Southwest a couple of times. Drive across going from New Orleans to L.A. A couple times to. Big friggin state! 😃

  3. The bluebonnets were really good this year, and we are hoping for a good Dewberry harvest too! They are just about ready.
    The first time I went to Luckenbach, the guy who rides the longhorn trotted right passed me and scared the bejesus out of me! Great motorcycle country outside of Fredericksburg!

    • Man I miss picking Dewberries! Peach season is right around the corner too, which means the Peach Jamboree and Rodeo is coming soon! My best friend was the “Peach Queen” one year! 😊

  4. Texas always intrigued me. I only made it to Dallas once in order to meet a friend. But I never really saw something about that part of the US! Thank you for sharing. The pics are beautiful and definitely made me leave a note on my bucket list!

  5. Everything looks so pretty!
    I’d love to see it someday. I only know Houston and mostly only one shopping mall. I went with my uncle and aunt and while he worked, she enjoyed shopping (I didn’t!!) 🙂

Leave a Reply

