anecdotes / Life / satire / Uncategorized

Great Tits in Science

  

This is not a story about those great tits, but damn, Sophia Vergara!

Image credit: imagechan.com

This is a story about a recent scientific discovery/ birds who can communicate in phrases. These birds happen to be named Great Tits. If I were a scientific journalist, I’d be obliged to report just the facts without any sly mention of the name of this species. Luckily for me,(and science) I’m just an anecdotal blogger.

These are the Great Tits I’m talking about.

  

Birds can speak in PHRASES and use grammar: Great tits produce their calls in a specific order to convey complex messages to each other

Japanese great tits use calls in a specific order to give complex messages 
This is the first recorded use of syntax in a non-human species

Researchers found reversing the order of the ‘words’ baffles other birds 

Birds not only use a variety of calls to communicate different messages, but some can also combine these calls in a specific way to form ‘phrases’ to convey more complex information.

Japanese great tits, also known as Parus minor, have been found to combine calls together to produce messages that convey different meanings.

Source: Dailymail.co.uk

Definition of syntax: syn·tax

[ˈsinˌtaks]

NOUN

the arrangement of words and phrases to create well-formed sentences in a language:

I can’t say I’m surprised by this scientific discovery, but I’m glad it’s solidified with proof.

In my heart, I’ve always known that the Robins outside my window were sharing secrets at 6 a.m. I’ve just wished that they’d wait until 8. Of course animals communicate with one another, otherwise their chirping would just be annoying. Someone has to make the coffee!

This is a video from my “Indy phase”. This video has received less than 1,000 hits in a decade, but this guy was a local “rockstar” to me. Please listen to the lyrics.

14 thoughts on “Great Tits in Science

  1. Heh, heh…she said tits. I’m convinced that that’s exactly what you wanted to be subliminally going through my mind the entire time I was reading your post.

    Bizarre song and video. We watched the whole thing and listened to the lyrics.

  2. I see tits very often in my garden 🙂
    Nothing makes me happier than to sleep in the morning when the birds are singing. That wasn’t always that way, of course. In my 20’s I used to go out and get back home around 6-7am when the birds started to sing and that didn’t let me sleep. One day I just decided to see things in a different way and instead of being pissed at the noise I started smiling thinking that the birds were serenading for me. 🙂 To the day when I hear the birds singing, it doesn’t matter if I didn’t sleep at all, I just close my eyes, smile and enjoy the music 🙂

  3. Hey! Nice work, Kim. Love those tits. There is a rare species in my neighbourhood. We’re not allowed to even look at them. But occasionally, they’ve done a dance on the ground to lead the way when I’m out walking. They’re incredibly sweet. xo

Leave a Reply

