Uncategorized

Am I Really that Cynical?

And the award for the most cynical A-hole goes to me!

We learn from our mistakes (hopefully). I recently posted something about spammers on Instagram which I quickly deleted. I was so sure that a certain comment was SPAM and I reacted before I had the full story. If I post a photo, there’s pretty much a guarantee that I’m going to receive some spam. I’ve only now learned that tagging something as “artistic” will lump you into photos of nipples. Who knew?

image

I posted this photo on Instagram and assumed I was being spammed when a kid shared it with his friend and tagged it”NUUU”. I interpreted Nuu as new (AKA fresh meat).

Kim, the vigilante thought she was doing a good deed by calling this kid out as a “Spammer”. I was so off the mark. As it turns out, NUUU is just an inside joke that this kid shares with his buddy about bugs set in Amber. I still don’t know what NUUU stands for but I know this kid was supremely earnest and apolegetic when it came to me questioning the motives of his comment.

Sometimes we have to wade through the selfish selfies to realize that there are people who truly identify and connect with our photo stories.

I’m sorry for assuming the worst.

12 thoughts on “Am I Really that Cynical?

  1. That phase was a new one me, I had to look it up in the Urban dictionary.
    TOP DEFINITION
    nuuu
    “You are sad, so you scream “NUUUUUUU!”
    Kitty! Kitty die! NUUUUUUUUU!”

    • I don’t know why I didn’t think to look it up. I probably should have done that before I bit that poor kid’s head off! Thanks for being my research assistant. 😌

  2. We’ve all been there. It’s even more difficult with everyone being behind the keyboard. Much easier in person to understand intent. RIP Facial Expressions [ Sorry emojis, you’re just not the same thing… 🙂 😉 :-O ]

  3. Nuuu!? Nope, don’t like it. Loved the photo. I usually get marriage proposals on Instagram. The spammers sure know how to wind me up.

Leave a Reply

