Uncategorized

Play it Again: 16 Album Challenge

Rob, over at the V-Pub https://weight2lose2013.wordpress.com has nominated me for this challenge (Thanks, Rob). I’m super excited, but also feeling how one must feel, when giving an awards speech. I hope I don’t leave anyone out!

The rules:

Don’t take too long to think about it. Sixteen albums you’ve heard that changed the way you thought about music…
if you are too young to have owned albums you can surely chose songs.
List the first sixteen you can recall in no more than fifteen minutes.
Tag two friends, or more if you have the time, and then tag me because I’m interested in seeing what albums my friends choose.

Here goes ( in no particular order):

The Rolling Stones: Sticky Fingers

image

Jeff Buckley: Grace

image

David Bowie: Space Oddity (A.K.A David Bowie)

image

Neil Young: Harvest

image

David Gray: White Ladder

Ray LaMontagne: Trouble

Merle Haggard: That’s The Way Love Goes

Led Zeppelin: Led Zeppelin

Beastie Boys: III Communication

The Mars Volta: Deloused in The Comatorium

Explosions In The Sky: The Earth Is Not A Cold Dead Place

Willie Nelson: Red Headed Stranger

George Strait: Strait Out Of The Box

Bright Eyes: I’m Wide Awake, It’s Morning

RadioHead: Every album ( I know I’m getting all bendy with the rules, but Thom Yorke has been reinventing himself since 1993’s “Creep”. If he’s wiling to bend, so am I.

Citizen Cope: The Clarence Greenwood Recordings

So there you have them. This was a really tricky challenge, and I was honestly surprised by my picks. I chose some albums that are a bit more mellow or sing-song-ey than I expected. I was also surprised by the amount of Country albums I picked. Over the past year, I’ve been getting back to my roots a bit, and it’s almost impossible to have Texas roots without Country music. The common thread of all of these albums, is that they are connected to very specific memories, very distinct moments in time. And yes, almost all of them acted as a soft shoulder to cry on, when I was nursing a broken heart, or sparked extra electricity when I felt like I was falling in love.

I really wanted to add cover art below every album listed, but my IPad is not cooperating. I’ll leave you with a video of a song from one of the albums, instead.

Before I do that, I’ll list my challenge nominees:

http://agirlnamedwanda.com/

http://sassafrass76.com/

Bright Eyes: Landlocked Blues

Emmy Lou Harris adds the harmony to this song, and it’s still so beautiful to me.

12 thoughts on “Play it Again: 16 Album Challenge

  1. I love that you included the Mars Volta album. I thought I was the only one in the world that remembered it. I was nominated for this one too but never submitted because I was trying to put it in the form of a poem which I guess means I thought about it too much!

    • I was pretty sure when I included The Mars Volta, no one would have a clue. They fucking kill it, so I couldn’t not include. I thought my choices would lean more towards rock, but they just didn’t. That’s the fun thing about these challenges. I had read that you’d been nominated, and that’s the only reason I didn’t tag you. I’m so interested in your favorite albums. I know your blog has a specific theme, but I also feel like you have die- hard readers who will forgive you for deviating from the plan.

      • Oh thanks. I was thinking of maybe just writing something about one of those albums and then doing the list separately but it’s not really making for a funny poem. Oh well. But here’s the thing too…if I think about albums that changed my life, there are so many that I didn’t really like or love personally but they changed my life because they changed the direction of music and I feel like I would need to explain this…oh so many dilemmas!!

      • I know just what you mean. In was incredibly tempted to give a history, and explain why I chose each album. I always struggle with paring down my posts, and keeping the word count at or below 500. I know everyone has a lot of other blogs to read through, so that’s just what I’ve set as my word count goal. The part of the challenge that said “don’t overthink things” helped me a lot.

      • See, which is exactly why some of these challenges just don’t work for me. And i know what you mean about the under 500 word count. when I blogged, not poetry, I was always careful to mind that. Poetry is easier to keep short. I always enjoy your blogs though!

    • Thanks! I debated between the two but I chose sticky fingers because it had Dead Flowers, Can’t You Hear Me Knocking, and of course Wild Horses. Thanks for including me in the challenge. I had a lot of fun with it.

  2. I would struggle to name 16 albums so I’m glad I wasn’t tagged in this. At a push, I probably could though. My musical preferences have changed so much over the years that it would probably be easier than I think.
    Great list. Although I’d opt for Pablo Honey.

    • Ya know, I did think about tagging you, but I had a hunch you might not go for it. It was a fun little exercise, so if you’re up for it, consider yourself tagged.

      • If I am tagged for a good, creative challenge, I’ll do it. If I’m tagged for a 16 selfie challenge … I won’t. My boobs don’t look good from 16 different angles.

Leave a Reply

