Uncategorized

Scratching The Creative Itch

image

Bracelet experiment #1

image

Dream Catcher

I’ve been itching for over a decade now. No, I don’t have bedbugs. Yes, I’m std free.

What’s been itching me like a wool sweater on a hot summer’s day, is 1 bag of leather scraps and a leather punch. I’ve been meaning to get around to creating something for a long time. A few days ago, that wild hair up my ass became too itchy not to scratch, so I made a trip to Michaels craft store. $60 later and $40 over budget, I was finally armed to turn my crafting visions in to reality.

Things didn’t go exactly right with creating my first bracelet. I applied glue to the edges of the cuff, which led to a crunchy feeling on the wrist. Setting the dangling ribbon also presented a problem (hence the hole marks).

But, (and this is a bug but), I created something. I didn’t create something from thin air, but I did envision a design and replicated it to the best of my ability. I cut leather, I hammered rivets. It just felt so good to create again.

I’m learning from my mistakes and challenging myself to perfect this new hobby. And, because I’m me, and come from a long line of entrepreneurs, I’m already envisioning a way to sell my yet-to-be-made designs.

One of these days, I’m gonna love what I do, and do what I love.

I’m still exploring,but maybe this is the start of something.

18 thoughts on “Scratching The Creative Itch

  1. Beautiful Kim! Well done!
    I make things too but out of garbage 🙂 A friend sold many of my creations and I still have some. I’ll try to find them and show you…

  2. Good stuff. Do people still Etsy? I think that’s where a lot of people sell crafts and hand-made goods. Kind of like a farmer’s market online.

    • Yes, Etsy is still hugely popular. I’m still honing my crap, err…craft. If I do start selling them, it will definitely be on Etsy. Look at you knowing about crafty stuff. 🌟

      • Sure thing: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Willas-Beads/1552798695001123 Hopefully that works, otherwise it’s Willas Beads/L.T. Garvin/Lana Dunlap Broussard on Facebook. There are lots of YouTube videos on making paper beads. I mix paper beads with glass beads for suncatchers and jewelry. It is also much more cost effective to buy your supplies on Ebay, I know, I know..you have to wait, but it is a lot cheaper. PM me on Facebook if you have any questions, I’m happy to help you..can’t wait to see what you come up with!

  3. Nice! I aspire to be creative, yet I’m not. So I love and appreciate when others can envision something and make it happen. Good for you!

Leave a Reply

