anecdotes

Summer Bucket List: Aging Rock Stars???

I have the opportunity to see two of my favorite performers/ bands live, but I am torn. 

Rock God, Robert Plant (Led Zeppelin) will be headlining with The Pixies in a few short days. The Pixies will most likely sound like The pixies but what will Robert sound like? What will he look like? If this sounds superficial it’s because it is.

I just have this image of Robert Plant being the sexiest man ever born, and I’m not ready to place him in the “Grandpa zone”. Will seeing his concert change that?  Just one whiff of Oldspice will forever shatter my view. 

  

I bite my lip each time I hear “Babe, I’m Gonna Leave You” or “Blackdog”. I hope seeing Plant perform now, won’t make me want to bite my non-existent dentures. 

“Babe, Im gonna leave you” By Led Zeppelin

I love The Pixies too, and their song “Here Comes Your Man” triggers a sweet memory for me. For Derek’s (my man) 32nd Birthday, I threw him a surprise party. As he entered the room, my friend/ free dj cued up this song. The night could not have gone better, so The Pixies make me feel a little sentimental.

“Here Comes Your Man” by The Pixies

Lawn seats are just $25. What do ya’ll think? Should I hold onto the images I have of these artists or risking being disappointed? Have you ever seen an aged rocker perform? If so, did it shatter your perception of them? Am I overthinking this the way I overthink everything? 😓😧

16 thoughts on “Summer Bucket List: Aging Rock Stars???

  1. Think what you’ll regret most, being disappointed or not going?

    I saw the Rolling Stones in 1995, does that count? I couldn’t see them younger because I wasn’t born 😀

  2. Oh my gosh, yes, aging rock stars is quite the topic because who ever thought that they wouldn’t stop performing after they are so, well, old. And not just Robert Plant who is around 70 but even the newer generation of rockers like Motley Crue and Metallica are around 50. I saw Robert Plant about 20 years ago and he wasn’t young then. Honestly, I thought he was kind of boring but I’m not sure if that had so much to do with what he was trying to go for as him being old.

    I could go on and on but really there’s just so many aging rock stars out there, if you don’t want to see them, you are greatly limiting yourself if you like to go to a lot of concerts.

    • I think I’m just hung up on the sex symbol thing. I wouldn’t even question it with most other performers. Robert Plant has just been my fantasy man for so long, and I picture him in 1969-not when he’s 69. It also saddens me a little, when you see artists who have lost their voices. They can’t hit the notes they once could, and they’re probably sick of singing the same 50 year old songs, so they just go through the motions.
      Again, I overthink everything!

      • I don’t think this is overthinking at all! It’s a very popular subject and it’s on the minds of a lot of people. I thought Robert Plant was gorgeous too, but when I went to see him, I didn’t have expectations that he would be anything like that and I also knew he had reinvented himself a bit. I’m not really sure how his voice is now but when I saw him, he didn’t sound bad but wasn’t doing those vocal olympics he used to do.
        I have similar thoughts on Paul McCartney but am very disappointed to see that he can’t really sing at all anymore. I’m sorry to say it, but I think he should stop performing.

      • Paul McCartney was actually who I was referring to when I wrote my last response to you. We saw him perform “Maybe, I’m Amazed” on SNL and it was just painful to watch. I can’t imagine he needs the money (even after the divorce settlement), so I wonder what the motivation to go on is. Best to end on a high note. Pun intended.

      • Oh yes. I so agree. I was actually a little scared writing that. My mother still talks to a childhood friend and they were original Beatles fans. My mother expressed her opinion to her friend, which is scarily almost verbatim to what you wrote here and the friend just didn’t want to hear it. She thinks Sir Paul can do no wrong. I guess she’s just not living in reality.

  3. Oh man. Robert Plant young or Robert Plant old… Holy crap! It’s Robert Plant! I still get excited thinking about his music. Age is relative. You just gotta go with the flow. 🙂 ❤

    • Going with the flow should be #1 on my bucket list! I’m such a planner, and as I mentioned in my post, I overthink everything.
      Example: I map out my grocery lists according to the store’s point of entry. I then shop from right to left, and if I remember that I didn’t list a produce item before shampoo or conditioner, I have to start my list over because the oranges MUST be listed before the shampoo. It’s a problem, Colleen! 😊

  4. My dad just saw the Rolling Stones a few weeks ago in Dallas, and he said it was horrible. They brought in a female singer to sing with them because they can’t hit the high notes anymore. As for Robert Plant, I say go for it. It’s Robert Plant! I agree, the sex symbol is gone, but if the music lives in your heart, let that be enough. Dan is taking me to see Def Leppard, Styx and Tesla for my birthday this year. I am sooooo excited, and I don’t care that they are old. I will be singing Renegade so loud, I won’t even be able to hear them over my own howling. 😉 Have fun!

    • We let the Robert Plant ship sail on by us. I’m ok with it. It was mainly because it’s been unbearably hot here (101 today) and the concert was outdoors.
      Your Birthday concert sounds like fun! When’s your Bday? Derek’s 40th is coming up next month. I need to get to planning!

    • We didn’t go. The main reason came down to the weather. The day he played, it was 100 degrees,with humidity that matched the heat index. We just went to the pool instead.

Leave a Reply

