Uncategorized

A City Of Stoners

It happens every April. My city’s inhabitants listlessly roam about their errands and vaguely greet each other with bleary red eyes and wheezing coughs. 4-20 dude!

My city is not stoned (well some are), it is pollinated.

Isn’t it lovely?

Don’t get me wrong. I love Springtime and my town blooms with color like no other.

It’s a beautiful thing to witness when you can actually see clearly. The pollen makes that difficult.

Tonight I was living my ultra-glamorous life in an ultra-glamorous way, (grocery shopping) when I began to become paranoid. My eyes were red and puffy and tears were streaming down my cheeks. I just knew that anyone who made eye contact with me would assume I was high. Somehow, the paranoia of looking high while not being high is even greater than the paranoia of being busted while actually being high (not that I would know).When I did allow myself to make eye contact with other shoppers, I noticed that they had been attacked by pollen as well. Trippy.

I still love Spring, whether I can see it or not. Spring means Summer is just around the corner and by then, the ominous pollen will be gone. I’m never happier than when I’m tan and on a kayak.

The pollen is annoying but I just chalk it up to the last “snowfall” of the year.

Can you relate to this? Please share.

17 thoughts on “A City Of Stoners

  1. We have a few weeks when the pollen is like a dusting of green. It clogs up the pool filter really quickly. Ahh, but it’s a good sign that the winter has finally passed!

  2. This year was a very bad one for allergies and even though I didn’t see a lot of potential stoners, there was a lot of coughing. Do you know that I was once told the the effects of pot, that is being ‘high’ from pot, is all an allergic reaction to the plant?

      • You know, I heard it in the days before computers were really possible and your questioning prompted me to google it just now. All I could find was the marijuana could trigger an allergic reaction but it’s kind of weird because the red eyes and increase of mucous seems all related. Did you find anything?

      • I pretty much found the same thing but I’m curious nonetheless. It makes me wonder about the various reactions that people have to the same substance: i.e., giggling,introspection,paranoia. I’m not scientifically minded but I’m intrigued by the study of the brain.

        On Wed, Apr 8, 2015 at 10:15 PM, kimboxin wrote:

        >

  3. I never saw something like that!
    Here only twice I saw the cars dusty (with pollen)… And I think it’s because it’s ALWAYS freaking raining and cleans everything off. 🙂

  4. I’ve never seen pollen that coated before! It almost looks like ash. My allergies are terrible, so I think living in your state would possibly kill me. 🙂

    • It’s crazy here! My eyes were watering really bad today, so naturally I rubbed them. I didn’t realize until I got home that I had smeared my eye makeup all across my face. I looked like I’d been doing an extended “walk of shame”.

      On Mon, Apr 27, 2015 at 12:08 AM, kimboxin wrote:

      >

  5. I didn’t work today. It was up to society-at-large to tell me I had raccoon eyes. I am that girl who will tell you you have spinach in your teeth. Just return the favor (even If you don’t know me).

Leave a Reply

