Uncategorized

The Soda Fountain Of Youth!

I was compelled by the title of the article below, and knew before I clicked on it, that it had to be about a Texan. Dr. Pepper is the unofficial, official NA beverage of Texas. My family certainly drank it’s share, and even swears by it’s “medicinal purposes”. The medicine woman in me, has even recommended it as an alternative to Correctol. I swear by it, people! What? Everybody poops.

Elizabeth Sullivan: Dr Pepper 3 Times a Day Is 104-Year-Old’s Secret

Elizabeth Sullivan credits her 104 years on earth to Dr Pepper and not her doctors. She says she drinks three cans of Dr Pepper per day.

Sullivan, a former teacher from Forth Worth, Texas, said she doesn’t take the advice of real medical doctors.

 “People try to give me coffee for breakfast. Well, I’d rather have a Dr Pepper,” Sullivan told CBS News. “I started drinking them about 40 years ago. Three a day. Every doctor that sees me says they’ll kill you, but they die and I don’t. So there must be a mistake somewhere.”

http://www.newsmax.com/TheWire/elizabeth-sullivan-dr-pepper-104/2015/03/19/id/631329/#ixzz3UtQwt9dw

I personally acknowledge that soda is terrible for you, so please realize that this post is tongue in cheek.

That being said, I had four grandparents with grease and Dr.Pepper slathered diets, who all lived until they were almost 90. Unlike most of my generation, they never stopped working with their hands or being active (well past retirement). Sure they indulged in some sausage and sodas,  but they were never couch potatoes.

Along with the sodas and sausages, was an array of fresh vegetables that they’d toiled in their gardens to grow.

All things in moderation, and to Elizabeth Sullivan, I raise an ice cold Dr. Pepper in cheers.

For her birthday recently, she received a cake shaped like Dr Pepper and a gift basket from the CEO of Dr Pepper Snapple Group.

“When you live to be 104 and still can talk to nice people, you deserve some Dr Pepper, but I never expected this,” Sullivan told CBS.

Read Latest Breaking News from Newsmax.com http://www.newsmax.com/TheWire/elizabeth-sullivan-dr-pepper-104/2015/03/19/id/631329/#ixzz3UtcZJWRl

7 thoughts on “The Soda Fountain Of Youth!

  1. Love me some Dr. Pepper, Wild Cherry Pepsi, and Cherry RC. No Cherry Coke thank you. Coke cherry flavor tastes too close to cough syrup flavoring to me.

Leave a Reply

