pets

Smelly Cat

I am not a cat person. Cats absolutely terrify me. They just seem to know too much, and I can never relax in an environment where a clawed creature can pounce on me from above. I always know where my dog is (under my feet), and she confines her bowel movements to outside (unless she’s sick).

Cats just shit in your house, and give a “fuck you” look, while doing it. If my dog has an accident, she hides in shame, and then begs for mercy while summoning all of the tricks in her bag, when the accident is discovered. Cats don’t even pretend to care. I could go on and on about the many ways that cats and kitty litter freak me out,  but I’ll just get to my point.

I have a problem with a cat-owning neighbor across the hall. I know the guy pretty well, and his two dogs are buddies with my dog. This past summer, one of his dogs ran away, and we (Derek and I) helped locate her, lure her with peanut butter on a stick, and finally dug her out from beneath a home. She was not a fan of the 4th of July fireworks, and was not rescued until around 4 a.m. The neighbor was supremely grateful, and vowed to return a kind deed, if we ever needed anything. Of course, we expected nothing in return. We just hoped he’d offer his assistance if our dog ever got loose. Our dog is sweet, and smart in her own way, but she has no fear of traffic. That’s a scary thing when you live in a high-traffic area.

Our dog has not needed rescuing (knock on wood), but I do need a favor from my neighbor. I just don’t know how to ask for it. As I stated before, he lives right across the hall from us. I never knew he had cats until a few weeks ago, but now I know, and the stench is unbearable. I’ve never made it through an episode of the show “Hoarders” because I have a weak stomach. If the show was in “smell-o-vision”, I’d guess it would smell like the unchanged litter box seeping through my neighbor’s walls. It’s that bad.

All of the tenants gather their mail just outside my neighbor’s and my door. Aside from pinching my nostrils shut, and dry heaving from the odor, I find that I’m embarrassed. There’s a 50/50 chance that the other tenants think the foul odor is coming from my apartment.

There’s just no good way to tell your neighbor that the smell of their apartment is making you sick.

Girl in NC seeks advice.

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Smelly Cat

  1. Try hanging a note on the hall saying: “Maybe you have a cold and can’t smell it, that’s why I’m friendly asking you to change the cat’s litter… Sincerely, A neighbor who can barely breathe because of the stench”.
    Sorry Kim, that situation sucks. I’m not sure how to let him know without offending him. Some people are just too sensitive to honesty.

  2. That’s awful, Kim. Is there a tenant association that you can approach for it? I don’t have cats, but I know some people that do. Some are very good about keeping the litterbox clean, and others smell so bad that I want to run out of the house.

    • Had to approve your message again! Marissa asked the same question, and I am now considering taking that step. I know most cat owners are responsible…but you kind of have to be. That cat odor is very distinctive and not for the faint of heart!

Leave a Reply

