Uncategorized

Christmas Movie List: Must Watch

Some people are Star Wars junkies. Some collect rare vinyl records. I collect Christmas memories. I am a Christmas junkie. I love the red and green glitter, the twinkling lights, and most of all-the Christmas movies. I’ll watch any bad movie as long as it has the words Christmas or holiday in the title. I need it. I need it bad. I’ll spare you the crappy ones (you can’t handle that shit-the hard stuff).

Here’s a list of Christmas movies I’ve watched too many times but will never tire of:

1). It’s A Wonderful Life

This is not just my favorite holiday movie but my favorite movie of all time. It’s satirical and honest, and stands the test of time. 2014 Kim easily identifies with 1946 George Bailey.

“George Bailey, I’ll love you til the day I die”. Me too Donna Reed.

2). Love Actually

This movie straddles the sap line but there’s enough British humor and raunch to balance it. It just makes me feel warm and fuzzy!

http://

3). Christmas Vacation

This movie is like stinky cheese-it gets better with age. Clark Griswold is the anti-hero and there are cheap laughs at his expense but the movie has heart. I watch it every holiday season and can’t hold back the tears during the following silly scene.

http://

4). Elf

This is the only holiday movie I ever saw in theatres besides Ernest Saves Christmas (still trying to forget that one). I fell in love with “Buddy the Elf” , and besides ‘Stranger Than Fiction’, I think it’s Will Ferrell’s finest role. I love smiling. Smiling’s my favorite!

http://

5). Prancer

I watched this movie a lot as a kid but I have to admit that my real fascination with it is actor Sam Elliot’s scruffy, sexy, manly-man voice. Perhaps this puts me on Santa’s naughty list but so be it. Sam Elliot sounds like he could change a tire with his bare teeth.

http://http://

Sam Elliott could sell me beef, trucks or expired sushi. I don’t care as long as he keeps talking!

What are your favorite holiday movies?

10 thoughts on “Christmas Movie List: Must Watch

    • I love Home Alone! I forgot that I had seen that one in a theatre when it came out. Our town was so small that it didn’t have it’s own movie theatre, so we had to make a 45 minute drive. Great memories!

      On Thu, Dec 4, 2014 at 6:04 PM, kimboxin wrote:

      >

  1. The first Home Alone is pretty good. They shouldn’t have made the others. But I’m not really here to talk about your good taste in Christmas movies. I think you’re the only other person I know who actually saw Stranger than Fiction. I thought Ferrell was incredible in it. Way better at slightly dramatic than Adam Sandler was in Punch Drunk Love. But Elf is great.

  2. Yes to the first Home Alone. No to the others. Stranger than Fiction gets me every time. I loved his serenade. I usually shut down when characters break in to song, but it was well done. Sappy but rough. Realistic. Adam Sandler is grating but Punch Drunk Love is one of my favorites. He was pretty good in Spanglish too.

Leave a Reply

