Uncategorized

Sunday In The South Photos: Spooky Fall, Ya’ll

cemgate

It was so tempting to just spend my Sunday under the blankets, while watching a Chopped marathon. It was tempting but today’s weather was the kind that would make you feel guilty for squandering it.

Halloween is right around the corner, so I decided to visit The City Cemetery. It was established in 1798, and that alone, is enough to give me goosebumps.

squirrel

As I entered the cemetery, this squirrel was found lying-in-wait on a headstone.Some people are afraid of ghosts. I ain’t afraid of no ghosts but I am afraid of squirrels. Maybe this fear is irrational but Clark Griswold and I, respectfully disagree. Squirrels are scary ya’ll!

Whether you believe in ghosts or not (I do) there’s something haunting about being in a cemetery. The fact that this particular cemetery, is located in a part of town that you don’t want to find yourself in after dark, only adds to it’s mystique.

cem1

cem2

NC’s fall foliage is limited and short-lived, unless you’re in the mountains. Amber and cranberry colored leaves struggle to contrast themselves against lush evergreens. We take what we can get of the spectacle during autumn.

headstone.leaf

I get a strange and eerie feeling, each time I walk away from a visit to a cemetery. Rationally, I know I’m just walking away from bones but I often feel as if I’m abandoning those who didn’t receive a proper headstone with an inscription. Upon exiting, I was drawn to this humble headstone with a lone, fallen leaf, resting beside it. Obviously, I never knew ‘J.N.H.’ but I like to imagine that his or her’s lived life, was worth more than a few crudely carved initials.

Please stand by for photos that are not Halloween themed. What? I took a lot of photos today. O.K ?

065

Bee In A Blossom: Amid Fall Berries

070

Berries And A Bud

074

From Where I Stand: A Steeple

087

These. Leaves. Are. On. Fire!

I know; too much excitement for one day. Let’s round it out with a little om moment.

109

Namaste ya’ll!

*Disclaimer* I don’t believe in ghosts per se, but I do believe that energy goes somewhere. For you, it might be heaven. If that is your belief, I’ll vehemently stand behind you, for your right to express that.

I’m a bit of a science nerd, and I subscribe to this theory of physics:

In physics, energy is a property of objects, transferable among them via fundamental interactions, which can be converted in form but not created or destroyed.

Not created or destroyed? I like that. Heaven to me, would consist of reminding my great-granddaughter to only cook cornbread in a cast-iron skillet. Additional notes would include being kind to the ‘unpopular’ and, seeking out the beauty in each day.

We have but a little time on this earth, and hopefully, our tombstones will contain more than initials.

What would you have your tombstone say?

10 thoughts on “Sunday In The South Photos: Spooky Fall, Ya’ll

  1. So the initials…maybe not so humble but more egotistical like, yeah baby, it’s me, what else needs to be said? And, yes, me and my daughter are both terrified of squirrels and have noticed they don’t seem to scare as easily. Used to be you would stamp your foot and they would go away but not any more. What’s up with that?

    • I thought that too! Initials: ‘enough said’. Thank you for validating my squirrel phobia. I thought it was just me. They freak me the flip out! Dead eyes.They’re all gangsta and shit now!

      • I know, right? When I lived in Brooklyn it seemed like they scampered away when you stamped your feet. Now in L.A. they kind of just move over a little and that’s it, like ‘oh, just you, huh?’ I wonder if they are a different breed.

  2. Squirrels are the devil! I’ve heard so many stories about them getting into peoples attics and causing lots of noise and destruction. I believe in ghosts and there’s nothing that screams Halloween more than a haunted cemetery. I love the photos!

Leave a Reply

