Uncategorized

The Problem With Texans: Not Enough State Pride

I’m pretty sure that no one has ever said this. Texans and New Yorkers share an obnoxious bond when it comes to boasting about our states. As a transplant to NC, I try to curb my enthusiasm, but it’s difficult when you know that you come from the greatest state in the nation!

This ingrained state pride is not entirely a Texan’s fault. Reciting the pledge of allegiance was followed each day by the real bread and butter recitation of Texas Our Texas. 

Texas, Our Texas! All hail the mighty State!
Texas, Our Texas! So wonderful so great!
Boldest and grandest, withstanding ev’ry test
O Empire wide and glorious, you stand supremely blest.
Empire? That’s quite a bit of pressure for a  5-10 year old. 
It’s been 14 years since I’ve resided in TX, but I will always call it home. I wear the state around my neck in charm form, and find myself grasping it each day. I’m with you Dorothy: “There’s no place like home”. 
I could easily turn this post in to a million words but I’ll offer some highlights instead. 

Chicken Fried Steak is a Texas staple and is the embodiment of comfort food to me. I used to crack my family up as we’d drive by cattle ranches. I’d moo and say:  “mmm, Chicken Fried Steak”. Cheap laughs, but I knew my audience.

My adolescent years were spent in a German settlement. The running joke was that babies were breast-fed beer, and it was pretty much a true statement. Bocks and bratwurst abounded, and I fell in love with the above pictured, Sausage Kolache. It looks like a pig in a blanket but the temperamental, yeasty dough elevates it and makes it truly special. I’m still trying to perfect the recipe.

 

Many family vacations were spent tubing on the Fro River. It’s aqua waters were so clear that you could see the limestone rocks on the bottom of the riverbed. If you’re not familiar with tubing, it’s a pretty simple concept, and a most relaxing way to spend the day. Large groups ‘caravan’ by tying their floats together, making sure to reserve a tube for the beer cooler. My most lucid dreams always bring me back to this area.

Bluebonnets make their appearance each spring like a red-carpet worthy starlet. It’s against the law to pick them, which only ads to their ‘star’ quality. We had a patch in our horseless horse arena.

 

Nothing sounds sweeter than a “howdy ma’am” spoken by a gentle-natured cowboy with calloused hands. As a teen, I dated my share of amateur bull-riders who slung me around the dance floor of my family’s dance hall. That’s a story for another day but their genteel manners will always be fondly remembered. In fact, I compare all men’s manners to those of the hay-seed boys I encountered in my youth. Their mama’s raised them right.

I could go on and on but I’m trying to limit my posts to around 500 words. I guess you can tell I’m feeling a little homesick :(. Maybe a Texas series in order.

For now, I’ll leave you with a few questions:

1). What would your last meal be/ what is your favorite meal? I’ve had mine picked out since I could chew. For me it’s chicken fried steak with mashed potatoes, fried okra, cream gravy and a cloverleaf dinner roll. Lemon meringue pie would be my dessert and I’d wash it all down with a refreshing glass of unsweetened iced tea w/ extra ice.

2). What activity or iconic imagery reminds you the most of home?

12 thoughts on “The Problem With Texans: Not Enough State Pride

  1. A cheese sandwich (any cheese, any bread) with tomato, lettuce and mayonnaise. A huge glass of orange juice.
    So many things remind me of home, it’s hard to pick one. (And now I’m feeling homesick too 🙂 )

    • I love polenta! I managed at an Italian restaurant called Gravy for years, and we served these yummy fried polenta cakes. Where are you from originally?

      On Sat, Oct 18, 2014 at 7:28 AM, kimboxin wrote:

      >

  2. Oh my goodness, I never thought of that, that certain people (NYers and Texans) could be characterized by their state pride. But now that I think about it, it’s true. As a native NYer, I miss pizza and bagels!

  3. Umm hungry now. Too hard to pick a food…so many to choose from. Home? Hmmm…certain smells make me think of home – laundry detergent and breakfast in the morning…

Leave a Reply

