Uncategorized

Then And Now: 2 Songs That I Love (Tearjerker Edition)

This is more of a then post than a now post. Eva Cassidy ‘s voice is often described as angelic, and judging from the bawling state I find myself in each time I listen to her sing, I’m in no position to argue. Her voice, simply, wrecks me by it’s purity.

If you’ve never heard of her that’s not surprising. She was a reluctant front man who apparently had to be coaxed from back up singing. She didn’t know how good she was. Just as she had given in to her destiny of being a great and recognizable voice, her life was cut short. She’d had a mole removed that was thought to be benign. It was only after she’d complained of hip pain that her doctors discovered she was in the final stages of bone cancer-which had spread from her original skin cancer. She was given three months to live and died at the age of 33-just as her life was beginning.

The gift of her voice might not have reached many, but it reached me. I hope that it will reach you too.

Songbird by Eva Cassidy

For you, there’ll be no crying
For you, the sun will be shining
‘Cause I feel that when I’m with you
It’s alright
I know it’s right

And the songbirds keep singing like they know the score
And I love you, I love you, I love you
Like never before

Eva deserves two songs. I know it’s right.

Over the Rainbow by Eva Cassidy

 

I’m feeling so vulnerable right now-but I’ve already started so I might as well finish this thing.

I love the song “Over the Rainbow” and below is my all time favorite.

Over The Rainbow by Israel Kamakawiwo

Someday I’ll wish upon a star,
Wake up where the clouds are far behind me
Where trouble melts like lemon drops
High above the chimney top
That’s where you’ll find me

Oh, somewhere over the rainbow way up high
And the dream that you dare to, why, oh why can’t I? I?

 

Question of the week: What would you do if you were given only three months to live? I feel like I’m too far away from my family, so spending time with them would be key. If on my own, I’d rent a secluded cabin in Wyoming where I’d write and fish and fish and write. I can’t imagine anything better than the smell of crackling logs on the fireplace, cozy wool blankets and nature at my doorstep.

5 thoughts on “Then And Now: 2 Songs That I Love (Tearjerker Edition)

  1. If I had 3 months to live I’d definitely go back to Canada from Dubai and spend it with family and friends. Easy decision really.
    I love the Israel version of Somewhere over the Rainbow. The big man died too soon as well.

Leave a Reply

