Uncategorized

Then & Now: Two Songs That I Love

This will be the first post in a series that I hope to update weekly. The premise is simple. Each week I will pick 2 songs that I love (a classic and a modern one).

I will start with a classic song that is arguably my favorite of all time.

1). “Babe I’m Gonna Leave You” by Led Zeppelin

It’s safe to say that I’ve listened to this song hundreds of times but the reason isn’t necessarily due to the lyrics. There’s just an aching in Plant’s voice that makes me feel all twisty inside. Each crescendo makes me feel like I’m about to be kissed for the first time. Remember feeling ‘butterflies’ in your stomach? That’s what this song does to me every time.

2). “Lotus Flower” by Radiohead

I’t’s true that Radiohead has been around for over two decades but the fact they are still producing new music, allows me to count them as modern.

The beauty of  Thom Yorke is his ability to constantly reinvent himself while still creating a unique sound. His voice has matured since the days of “Creep” and I find it to have a particularly haunting quality. If you find yourself distracted by his ‘dance moves’ in this video-just close your eyes. He’ll never know!

http://

Notes/Comments/Questions:

I’m really excited about this little weekly post project. It’s going to be a challenge to find new music that I love but I can’t wait to see what I can dig up.

If I upload a video that contains only static images, it’s because I can’t  find the original or the original that I did find, has lousy sound quality. If you know of great video sources-do tell.

Question of the week: What was the very first album you purchased for yourself? Mine was a single cassette. Remember those?  It was The Black Crowes and had “Hard To Handle” on side A and “Remedy” on side B.

The B sides were always better.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Then & Now: Two Songs That I Love

  1. Thanks! I’m looking forward to posting more and perhaps, feeling like a kid at a record store while I’m searching for new music. Let me know the name of the documentary, if you remember.

Leave a Reply

