Uncategorized

DIY TO DIE FOR!

I’ve been making my own moisturizer for over a year now and will soon launch my own line of homemade products. *Stay Tuned*.

There has been a lot of trial and error but a few natural products have become my best buds. Here’s what and why!

1). Coconut Oil: I buy this little gem in it’s unrefined state for around $6 per jar. My main use for it is as a carrier oil. Some studies show that beyond it’s great moisturizing benefits, it’s an appetite suppressant as well as a ‘super food’ for your brain. While I hate the texture of coconut meat, I love the scent and flavor of the virgin oil. It’s a wonderful accent to asian dishes but I’m a popcorn fiend and love to pop my corn in the stuff! 

2) Shea Butter: This stuff stinks to most people but the good outweighs the bad. I use this as a base in my body butters but will soon be switching to Cocoa Butter because I find it almost impossible/expensive to mask the scent with essential oils. Still, this stuff is magic! The benefits are endless but most notable are it’s skin healing properties. This stuff has been linked to preventing sunburn/healing sunburn, treating acne, stretch marks and eczema and evening out skin tone. I have it in the raw form and apply a sliver of it to my face each day. I then steam a washcloth, press it to my face until it cools and wipe. This method is called oil pulling and my acne prone/dry skin are loving the results.*The smell makes me gag a little but it quickly dissipates*

3). Olive Oil Sugar Scrub: This past Winter was brutal towards pretty much all of us. My usual moisturizing method just couldn’t keep up with the continuous arctic blasts and as a result, I found myself scratching my dry skin until it bled. In dire need of relief, I consulted my pantry. I quickly whipped together a simple scrub of Olive Oil and Sugar and used it to exfoliate while in the shower. The results were instant and amazing! The sugar scrubbed away the itchy skin while the Olive Oil created a moisture barrier long after the shower ended. It felt like a spa day! I love the smell of Olive Oil but if it’s scent is not your favorite, you can always squeeze some citrus or essential oils in to change up the fragrance.

4). Beeswax. I’m very fortunate to have a beekeeper friend/local supplier of beeswax.When added to products it creates a thicker, creamier texture that feels luxurious.Beeswax offers anti-inflammatory, antibacterial and antiviral benefits Beeswax acts as an emollient and a humectant, drawing moisture to the skin and sealing it in, reports Botanical.com. Beeswax also contains vitamin A, which may be beneficial in softening and rehydrating dry skin and in cell reconstruction. It’s the bees knees!

I love the feeling of liberation that comes from using natural products that contain a few ingredients that you can pronounce without a chemistry doctorate. I am breaking the cycle of chemical dependency for my skin and I look forward to sharing the journey/products with you!

Leave a Reply

